15 Days of Giving: Historic Castalian Springs
As we continue to move through our Fifteen Days of Giving, let's take a step back in time with Historic Castalian Springs.
Located in Castalian Springs, Tennessee, Historic Castalian Springs is home to three beautiful sites: Cragfont State Historic Site, Wynnewood State Historic Site, and Hawthorn Hill. Each property tells a unique story holding rich history in 18th century, Middle Tennessee.
Wynnewood State Historic Site features an ancient mineral spring and the original Castalian Springs Resort, a National Historic Landmark. Built by the Wynne family and their enslaved workers, it remains the largest early log structure in Tennessee.
Once called the "Grandeur on the Frontier," Cragfont was built around 1798 -1802. It was the home of General James Winchester, his family, and a place of enslavement for between 25 - 50 individuals. The site is operated by Historic Castalian Springs.
Constructed in 1806, Hawthorn Hill was originally owned by John Bearden who had the Federal-style brick house constructed. Hawthorn Hill is notable both as an example of early Tennessee architecture as well as for the accomplishments of Dr. Humphrey Howell Bate, Jr., the grandson of Colonel Humphrey Bate. In 2007, Hawthorn Hill become property of the Tennessee Historical Commission and currently operates under the management of Historic Castalian Springs.
To learn more or donate, visit: https://www.historiccastaliansprings.org/